Schedule your free
consultation below

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

REQUIRED FIELD

CLOSE

TF(866) 539-4415

TOLL FREE

L(816) 531-4415

LOCAL

Wendt Law Firm: Kansas City Personal Injury Lawyers

fighting for

fighting for

the injured

Our law firm represents those who have suffered personal injuries or have lost a loved one due to the negligent actions of another. We specialize in personal injury trial litigation and focus our attention on those we represent.
START WITH YOUR FREE CONSULTATION

Learn about our law firm in 90 SECONDS

Kansas City Rideshare Accidents Attorney: Uber & Lyft

Rideshare has transformed the transportation industry, but at what price? The popular services Uber and Lyft have been in the news numerous times for tragic car accidents, sexual assaults by drivers, and other harmful events. Hundreds of app users have pursued compensation through the rideshare companies’ insurance plans and personal injury lawsuits around the country. If you become a victim in a rideshare accident in Kansas City, come to Wendt Law Firm P.C. We have vast experience handling Kansas City car accident claims.

What to Do After a Rideshare Accident

Car accidents are confusing enough without the unique elements that come with rideshare vehicles. Victims may not know what to do or who to call. The driver may refuse to acknowledge his or her fault for the incident or try to persuade you not to report the crash. After a rideshare crash, there are steps you can take to protect yourself from having to pay your damages out of pocket. Here’s what to do in Kansas City:

  1. Go to the hospital. Delaying medical care after any car accident can make it appear to insurance companies and a courtroom that your injuries weren’t extensive. It can also worsen any injuries you do have. Even if you don’t experience symptoms right away, go to your doctor and explain what happened.
  2. Call the police. Don’t count on your Uber/Lyft driver or another party to report the crash. In Missouri, you must file if the accident resulted in injuries, deaths, or more than $500 worth of damage (which is often the case). In Kansas, report the accident if there are injuries, deaths, or more than $1,000 worth of damage.
  3. Gather information. Get the name of the Uber or Lyft driver, as well as any other parties involved in the collision. Write down the name, phone number, license plate number, and where the crash occurred. The app should save information such as the driver’s name and vehicle.
  4. Report the accident to Uber/Lyft. Both companies have a reporting system through the app or online. Follow the steps to report a crash. An Uber/Lyft representative should contact you shortly to get more details about the crash. Never let your driver talk you into not reporting the crash to the company.

Uber and Lyft both carry $1 million in damage coverage in case of accidents. In most cases, this insurance will cover your personal injuries. However, it is possible that the company will deny the claim or offer less than your case is worth. If this happens to you, speak to an attorney right away. Our Kansas City team has handled rideshare claims in Kansas and Missouri, and we can help you go up against Uber or Lyft when necessary.

Call Our Firm After a Rideshare Crash

Rideshare drivers in Missouri and Kansas are independent contractors, not employees of Uber or Lyft. Legally speaking, vicarious liability rules would not come into play as they would with other companies and their employees. When a worker is an independent contractor, the employer is not liable for the worker’s on-the-job actions or behaviors. Yet this does not protect Uber and Lyft from liability entirely. You may be able to bring a personal injury claim against the company, the driver, or a third party for maximum compensation. To learn more about these complex cases, contact us for a free consultation.