|Posted on October 17, 2018 in Safety Tips |
Gun laws have been a hot topic throughout the United States, in response to several major tragedies involving active shooters. Gun safety is something Kansas and Missouri lawmakers take seriously. Both states enforce strict statutes regarding who can purchase a gun, who can carry concealed weapons, and where permit-holders can bring firearms. These statutes aim to improve the safety of everyone in Kansas City, gun owners and otherwise. The Kansas City personal injury lawyers at Wendt Law Firm, PC want our community to understand the basic gun safety laws in Kansas and Missouri. Doing so can keep you on the right side of the law and help avoid sustaining a personal injury.
Kansas gun laws operate on an “unrestricted” and “shall-issue” basis. This means that anyone 21 years old and up can legally conceal-carry without needing a special permit, if that person is in legal possession of the firearm. The shall-issue aspect of the law states that the local sheriff may approve an application for a concealed-carry permit if the gun owner needs one for out-of-state travel. To apply for a permit, you must be at least 21 years old and live in the county in which you’re filing. Each permit is valid for four years. To conceal-carry a firearm in Kansas, one must:
It is relatively easy to buy a gun in Kansas. It’s is a gun-friendly state that does not require a permit to purchase a firearm. All you need is to be 18 or older, have a state ID, and complete a background check. A licensed firearms dealer must be the one to conduct the background check.
Note, however, that since federal law has the minimum purchase age at 21, you may only purchase a gun as someone 18 to 20 through a private seller in Kansas. You must be 21 or older to walk into a firearms store and purchase a handgun. The upside is that private sellers don’t require background checks. Similarly, buyers must be at least 18 to purchase a long gun from a dealer under federal law, but the Kansas state law doesn’t have an age requirement on long guns. You can purchase a long gun from a private seller in Kansas under the age of 18.
Like Kansas, Missouri gun laws also operate on an unrestricted, constitutional carry basis. Lawful gun owners do not need permits to conceal-carry their weapons in approved areas. Missouri gun owners do not need to register their firearms or use purchase permits. In Missouri, however, the age limit for constitutional carry is just 19 years old – two years younger than the age in Kansas. Keep this in mind if you’re traveling from Missouri to Kansas as a gun owner under the age of 21; you may need a shall-issue permit to do so. To qualify for a concealed-carry permit in Missouri, you must fulfill the following requirements:
Missouri concealed-carry permits are valid for five years. In Missouri, gun owners with permits can carry concealed weapons in vehicles, in state parks, and in restaurants without notifying officers. Same is true in Kansas. You cannot conceal-carry a weapon where there are “No Firearms” signs posted in either state. The state of Missouri has more off-limits places for concealed-carry permit holders than Kansas. Stay up-to-date on the gun laws in both states to protect your right to bear arms as a Kansas City resident.